Adele 21 - Album Review

via towerrecords

"I don't make music for the eyes, I make music for the ears."
- Adele in Rolling Stone

 I can't believe I haven't posted a review on this album yet. Literally I have been listening to this album everyday for two months and  it has not sounded tired yet. Adele's sophomore album, 21, brings everything her fans loved in her first album, 19, and also shown a growth as an artist.

Part of her appeal is her ability to tug at hearts and in this album her story telling just gets better. Most notable is the stand out track Someone Like You, a tragic song about old and unforgotten love.

 The album really maintains her love for ballad songs but pushes for more aggressive sounds most prominent in the angsty first single Rolling In The Deep as well as the cheeky Rumor Has It. Adele also delves into blues and folky sounds like If It Hadn't Been For Love and the last track Hiding My Heart.

This is the kind of album where the songs all sound the same on the first listen (with Turning Tables as the instant favorite) but really this a gem of an album. Especially, in the current state of music dominated by dance and electro, Adele is a singer songwriter that gets back to basics and excels at what a singer should do, sing. It's a surprise hit in that sense and its great to see quality music get the recognition it rightfully deserves. 21 is a break-up album that will make listeners fall in love with Adele and her music. If you want to hear a soulful voice with stories that beautifully resonates with many, this ones for you.

Tracklist :
1. Rolling In The Deep 
2. Rumor Has It 
3. Turning Tables 
4. Don't You Remember
5. Set Fire To The Rain 
6. He Won't Go 
7. Take It All 
8. Ill Be Waiting 
9. One & Only 
10. Lovesong 
11. Someone Like You 
12. I Found A Boy (Itunes Bonus Track)

No comments:

Post a Comment